//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Gratitude

IMG_2038I read an article today about how mixing meditation and running may help reduce depression. I force myself to get a good work out in, especially after a long day of my internship, as a way to release. It’s worked so far, but sometimes I get into a funk and it seems like nothing can get me out of it.

Here’s a summary of where I am:

I’m finishing up my last semester of law school in Austin, Texas doing an internship at the Attorney General’s office. It was an adjustment for me after having worked a year at the Friend of the Court Bureau in Michigan, but I’m very grateful for the opportunity to spend the semester away getting practical experience. I also recently had an interview for this sweet position at a legislative agency. I think it went well, but after being told that over 100 people applied for the position and 34 were selected to interview, I am trying not to get my hopes up.

But to have hope when I could easily give up and wallow is a strength I value. God has blessed me with a lot. I tend to forget these blessings because of the constant need to move on from one task to the next, but it’s certainly true. Three years ago, I was anxious about getting into a good law school. I was graduating from college with two bachelor’s degrees, a solid GPA, and strong work experience. Two years ago, I was disillusioned by law school and wanted to return home so badly. One year ago, I greatly improved my grades, landed an awesome job at an agency that I loved, and was even prepared to sacrifice going home for the summer to commit time to this job.

Today, I’m proud to say that I will be graduating with honors, have diverse legal and work experiences under my belt, have gained and maintained valuable relationships, and in just a few month’s time, I’ll be preparing for and taking the Texas bar exam. It’s been a long process that’s not quite over yet, but I am beyond grateful to have traveled the road I’ve walked on.

-UPDATE ONE MONTH LATER-

I actually landed a final interview for the legislative counsel position two weeks ago, and now I’m waiting to hear back on whether I got the job or not. I was told that I should hear back by the end of the month. Again, I’m trying not to get my hopes up, but the fact that I was one of the 15 people selected to interview for 5-6 positions makes me feel grateful and happy to have made it this far. I trust that God will lead me to where I’m meant to go.

But I really hope I get it!!

Discussion

Comments are closed.