//
you're reading...
Thoughts on Things

Back to the Grind

It’s been a wonderful 3 months being back at home. I can’t believe how fast this summer flew by. I thoroughly enjoyed being with my family, friends, and boyfriend again. I also loved that I was able to spend time with them while working almost full time at my internship at the Family Court.

This balanced combination gave me a taste of how life could be after I graduate law school, if I am fortunate enough to find work and return home. My Judge was right: if you love what you do, you’ll enjoy your work. I loved my time working at the Family Court; it confirmed my interest in Family Law and rekindled my motivation in law school, something that I desperately needed.

I didn’t enjoy going on this journey alone my first year, but I realized that it’s challenging me in ways that I never thought imaginable. Studying for hours on end with no one to come home to, grocery shopping without a mother to buy me whatever I want and a little brother to load the cart with his favorite snacks, not being able to take a break on the weekend to catch up with friends and to just unwind, and not getting to share my ups and downs, failures and accomplishments with the people that I care about most in this world. As depressing as it sounds, I know it’s made me a stronger and better person. I guess this is growing up.

I could wish that these next two years “fly by” just as quickly as this summer did, but I’d be selling myself short, overlooking the most important start to my career. I need to take advantage of the opportunities I have and venture outside of my comfort zone. It sucks being so far away from home and my loved ones, but I trust that it’s good for me to experience discipline and independence. I can’t always get everything I want out of life, and this experience is pretty indicative of that. My family will always be there, and I am lucky that it’s the one thing that will remain a constant in my life.

2L, I’m not quite ready for you, but I’ll make do because it’s all I can do.

Discussion

Comments are closed.